Our fair has been around for a long time. Here is our story.
The Juniata County Fair was first organized on February 26, 1852, and incorporated December 10, 1859. Using a board of directors to operate the fair grounds, the format has remained unchanged since that time. Originally, fairs were held alternately between Perrysville (now known as Port Royal) and Mifflintown.
The original Port Royal grounds south of town were found to be too small in 1887, at which time a larger tract of land was purchased to the north. Those are the same grounds still used today. Originally the fair was primarily a showcase for agrarian enterprise, but has slowly changed over the years and moved away from its roots. In 1953 weekly automobile racing began on the track that was originally built for horse racing. The Port Royal Speedway continues to be a major draw to the fair today.
The fair has been held every year except during the Civil War.